So I guess we can expect to see Spider-Mickey soon. :/

Posted: September 1, 2009 in Uncategorized

*WHOOP* *WHOOP* NERD ALERT.

For those of you who haven’t heard, Disney has bought out Marvel Inc. for $4 billion. I’ve heard a few different opinions on this and I have to say, I’m a bit concerned. Not so much for the marketing, it’s not like Marvel hasn’t been whoring themselves out on lunchboxes and other bric-a-brac and Universal Studios has had Marvel themed rides for years. I’m more concerned about the lack of adult material in the comics, to be honest. I’m not saying, “I WANT BOOBS AND BLOOD OR IT’S NOT GOOD.” I’m saying the adult themed line (Marvel MAX) was better written and was definitely more realistic. Especially series like Supreme Power and Marvel Knights. I’ve already seen on one forum a statement I immediately expected to see. “Well, comics are supposed to be for kids anyway.” Really? How outdated is that statement? That’s like saying Disneyland is supposed to be for kids anyway. That’s why they serve beer in California Adventure, right? Comics stopped being “kids’ books” years ago. I don’t know how much Disney would be ‘hands off’ with Marvel, but considering how much press this is getting already, it’s going to be common knowledge that Marvel and Disney are tied in, so there might be some concern about “how our Marvel subsidiary is affecting the Disney brand”. Ugh. Okay, I think I’ve ranted enough about comics on the internet to insure I don’t have sex for a good month or so.

S-P-I..D-E-R...M-A-N...SOMETHING SOMETHING.

S-P-I..D-E-R...M-A-N...SOMETHING SOMETHING.

Comments
  1. Brock whole-heartedly agrees.

    Like

  2. Damn your stupid blog for not letting me post an airbrushed naked loser painted like Spiderman.

    Like

Leave a Reply

