And that’s the story of Arbor Day…

Posted: November 18, 2009 in Uncategorized

Thanksgiving is quickly approaching and this time of year, you know what you’ll be seeing. A lot of people mad at holidays. Halloween usually doesn’t provoke as much ire as Thanksgiving and Christmas do. Thanksgiving, I’m sure we’ll see Facebook status messages along the lines of, “Let’s all eat food to celebrate the RAPE AND PILLAGING OF THE INDIGENOUS PEOPLES OF THIS LAND. Enjoy your turkey, MONSTERS!”   Christmas, there’s usually two schools of thought on this.  The ol’ “Jeebus is the Reason for the Season” and “Jeebus is NOT the Reason for the Season”.    :/  These are some of the many times I wish I was a kid again.

For one, I was thinking about it and is there really a holiday that is celebrated like it originally was intended? Maybe Arbor Day is actually a good example.  Which no one gives a shit about, because Earth Day took all the glitz and glam.  Things change.  I understand that it’s important to know the origin of things that you are participating in, but is it important to shit all over things if the the result is something positive?  The people who speak of Thanksgiving in such a negative light, I wonder do they truly think they’re being informative (I doubt anyone who reads this blog goes around torching Butterball stores or anything)? Isn’t there a way to inform people or speak your mind and still enjoy being with family/friends and enjoy good food without coming off as a total tool?  I’m not saying I KNOW of a way; even in this blog, I feel like a douchebag for giving my opinion, sometimes (most times). 

And the big guy.  Christmas.  For all my Jewish friends, yes, I know, Chanukkah (sic of course).  I’m not Jewish.  I’m not Christian, either, but my experience with Hanukkah may possibly not exceed the Jewish neighbor on Pee Wee’s Playhouse.  So I’ll stick with what I have at least a superficial knowledge of.  Presents Day.  Now, my dad has taken to not giving gifts for Christmas over the past few years because it’s gotten too commercial.  It’s also because my dad hates shopping and giving gifts.  This might be coincidental.  Just like it might be a coincidence that it gets colder in the winter every year.  I understand that we are bombarded with images of reindeer and Santa and snowmen and the like, so some people feel it’s their solemn duty to remind everyone that a baby was born in a manger and we should be grateful that he took the time to be born.  Okay.  Sure.  The thing is, and this is the way I feel about political pundits like O’Reilly and Olbermann, the people who already are in your court, don’t you think they know this?  For my atheist friends, don’t get your dander up, I’m using know in the figurative sense.  And speaking of my atheist friends, I like Stupidman’s tactic.  He said, “I let people be until I get bombarded with emails or whatnot about Jesus being the reason for the season, then I send them back the explanation of how Christmas was originally a pagan holiday adopted to try to convert pagans to Christianity.”  That’s probably the best way to go about it.  I LIKE giving gifts (granted I have no money right now, but details, details).  I like sitting with people I care about and eating.  Where is the negative side in that? Uh, besides gluttony and poverty, again, details. 

And my number one favorite thing to hear (I used to have a neighbor say this ALL the time) is, “I hate holiday cheer.  People are so fake.  If it really meant anything, they’d be nice all year.”  Yes, please don’t be nicer to your fellow man, even if it’s only for a month.  Be nasty ALL the time.  Granted, one thing I hated about California was people being nice to you that hated your guts, but once in awhile, being nice actually accomplishes making someone else feel better.  Maybe you’ll be in a better mood and it’ll make you be nice to someone else.  And so on and so forth, until we’re all making out.  Sorry, got away from me there.  I don’t really know who I’m ranting to, because I’m almost proving my own point.  The people who read this blog, probably feel the same way I do, but it’s my blog.  I do what I want. 

HAPPY HOLIDAYS.

Oh, when you said Christmas spirits...

Comments
  1. 37 says:

    If someone plans on torching a Butterball store, let me know. I bet it would smell DELICIOUS!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

