Came for the breathing, stayed for the reality check…

Posted: January 26, 2010 in Uncategorized

I had today off and decided that it would be a good opportunity for some yoga.  I usually feel better afterward and lately I’ve been feeling it in my body, also.  I’ve lost a good amount of weight (if I haven’t mentioned forty times), but I’d like to get in good shape this year.  As Boopy Doo says, “We need to be HOT.”  Yeah, that’d be nice.  I’m getting better at the poses and Jay is a good teacher (from what I know), but something he said today resonated.  He was talking about how he really puts his yoga into practice when dealing with his everyday life, his example was talking politics with his dad and being patient while doing so (which I can sooooo relate to).  And then he continued about it later in the session and said something that is kind of a big DUH, but stopped me in my ocean breathing tracks.  “Sometimes the things that annoy us the most about our family are the things that we dislike most in ourselves.”  Fucking OUCH.  Yeah, true that.  This year, I really want to focus on getting THINGS done, but I also need to get to improving myself.  I’ve wasted so much time and on top of the wanting to learn new things (the violin, I should take some voice lessons, and I’d really like to brush up my writing skills) and experience more in life, I really need to get my head on straight.

Unless, it's not straight like this. This I could handle.

Leave a Reply

