Momo Mondays (postponed until Tuesday due to narcolepsy)

Posted: June 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

I INTENDED this to be for yesterday’s post, but laid down on my comfy soft bed last night at 9 or 10 and ZZZZZZZZZZZZ.   Mostly due to the FOOD HANGOVER I had from Sunday.  What do you ask is Momo Mondays?  Well, Momo is a fellow foodie of mine and Monday is all about FOODS.  I don’t know anyone who can make food sound like such a transcendent experience like she can.  It makes me hungry just listening to her talk about food.  This week is a salute to Sunday Brunch and Sunday…uh…Linner.  I woke up Sunday and was kind of meandering around for a bit and Mr. B knocked on my door and said, “Hey, we’re going to Prune, do you want to go?” To which I replied, “Uh, hell YES.”  Check the link for the menu, but we’ve been meaning to go there as a house since K-town’s birthday.  We had to wait for about 40 minutes, but it was worth it.   We sat down in the tiny room and were assaulted with smells of Sunday Brunch.  We ALL ordered Bloody Marys, because, LOOK AT THE BLOODY MARY MENU.  You have to.  I had a Chicago Matchbox and it was veggie-licious.

Boopydoo got a great pic of the Bloody Sunday.  One is a seafood based one (yes, those are anchovies), one is a chipotle one and the other has tequila.  😀 (Mine has all the turnips and junk on  it)

Hey, there's vegetables involved, it's healthy.

I decided to keep it simple and get poached eggs, with grilled lamb sausage and an english muffin.  Did I say simple?  That sausage was GOOD.  Everything was perfectly cooked and so I say A++, would chow again.  K-town got her Monte Cristo, BD got some Huevos Rancheros and Mr. B got some Spaghetti Carbonara.  Full bellies to be had by all.

After that, I headed to Park Slope to meet The Wee One at Chip Shop.  Oh, man, that’s when the evil began.  Fried pizza, with fried fish and chips and fried Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup with fried socks.  Maybe not the socks.  BUT I WOULDN’T HAVE NOTICED.  Granted, I ended up paying the price later that night (trust me, it’s better I leave out the gruesome details), but it was worth it.  CRISPY, SALTY, GREASY, SAVORY AND MAGICAL.  CHECK IT OUT, YANKS.  BRILLIANT.

Yes, that's deep fried cheese pizza. Now, my system can die. Did I mention I'm lactose intolerant? FUCK YOU, BODY.*

The walls were adorned with British newspaper articles, posters and UK slogans and I could’ve stayed there all day.  Coincidentally, it had started raining right when I arrived, so it felt appropriate.  We devoured our meal in proper American fashion and meandered down the road to a local diner for $2 mimosas before heading back for a Blackberry Apple Crumble (which admittedly wasn’t the highlight of the meal).  Thoroughly sated, we headed over to Galaxy and fed our geeky souls with some comic book browsing, before going our separate ways.  I headed home and shared my culinary exploits with the Roomsketeers (sans K-town who had collapsed under the weight of three hours of karaoke onto her bed), and I fell on my bed like I had just run a marathon.  IN MY BELLY.  Next week, all about my favorite cuisine, BARBECUE!

Oh, by the way, if you have a request for me to talk about certain foods, please take it up with Chef DeLuise.

OH, YEAH? WELL, SHUT UP, PAVAROTTI.

*picture by The Wee One

Leave a Reply

