“How about a bar that serves southern food called Bar…B-Q?”

Posted: June 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

Tachycardia Truck

So for Momo Mondays this week (I skipped a few last week), we discuss my favorite cuisine.  The barbecue.  I’ve been to many a barbecue and many a barbecue restaurant.  I wouldn’t consider myself an EXPERT, but definitely a BBQ (my least favorite spelling of the term) gourmand.  Now, I haven’t gone full veggie yet, so I still love some barbecued chicken and brisket.  Lucille’s Smokehouse Barbecue is a chain in southern California, and believe it or not, pretty damn good.  I’ve PASSED by a couple of the chains here (Dallas BBQ) and haven’t been impressed with even the SMELL.  Now if barbecue doesn’t SMELL right, there’s a problem.  I’ve also had Daisy Mae’s at work and it was…okay.  But what really makes a good Q place to me, is THE FIXIN’S.   Garlic Mashed Taters, BBQ baked beans, Mac and Cheese (which sadly, due to my body’s displeasure with dairy, I have to watch out for now :(), biscuits, greens, ETC, ETC.  A good barbecue place could get by on the fixin’s alone.  The best barbecue I’ve admittedly had was at home.  In all fairness, granted, it’s a memory, but my dad and his friends know how to barbecue.  Chicken and ribs and steaks and burgers and hot dogs.  That’s how to do it.  Tons of potato salad, macaroni salad and whatever the hell ambrosia salad is (I’m convinced it’s a delivery system for a race of marshmallow aliens to incubate their young in the stomachs of white people).  Barbecue to me, spells summer.  And heat and the outdoors and GLUTTONY.  One of the more acceptable sins in America.  *shrug* What are you going to do?  Now, I haven’t been to Fette Sau yet, but I’ve heard it’s impressive.  We’ll see.  That’s my birthday place this year and I’ll discover if it lives up to the hype.

Leave a Reply

