Thuper Thursday 6/24/10 – The Return of Something

Posted: June 24, 2010 in Uncategorized

This week, I’ve been trying to branch out and read what’s new and hip.  I read the first two books of Scott Pilgrim, and I get it.  It’s clever and hip and snarky and self-aware.  And the movie’s going to screw it up.  I’m pretty sure.  The premise is this slacker kid has to fight the seven evil ex-boyfriends of this girl he likes and he’s living his life like he’s living in a comic book.  It’s entertaining, but I’m also curious if it will fall prey to the trap that most meta comics/shows/webseries/yaddayaddas fall prey to.  Becoming a parody of itself.  It has a lot of potential to do that, because unless it reinvents itself completely (thereby becoming something different anyway), people will wonder why they don’t just reread the first books.  *shrug*  We’ll see.  One thing that’s becoming apparent (that I’ve brought up in the past) is the acceptance of comic book geeks into mainstream society.  When I was a kid, it was okay to read comics…well because you were a kid.  My dad almost strangled me once when I mentioned at a dinner party we were being subjected to that he was a comic collector.  Nowadays, it makes you “quirky, but kind of smartly hip”.  Especially, if you read a non-capes and cowl book (i.e. Scott Pilgrim; Walking Dead, etc).  I still read the capes and cowls, for the same reason I read them when I was eight.  Sometimes, I want to be elsewhere where the good guys win.  Most of the time.

Which one you are?

Leave a Reply

