Thuper…uh, Thaturday?

Posted: December 11, 2010 in Uncategorized

I haven’t had a chance to really talk about comics in a bit, so I thought I’d take this opportunity, since I caught up on some reading recently.  I was wondering why I hadn’t really blogged about comics much and then realized why.  I haven’t cared as much.  Not that I don’t care at all, but it seems like things have slowed down in both the DC and Marvel universe.  Granted, it’s not sweeps week or whatever you want to call it, so there aren’t super major ridiculo crossovers going on, but come on.  Age of Heroes?  A return to the Silver Age?  This is like a fanboy-writer wank off.  I don’t think I’m alone in this.  The comic forums don’t have as much buzz as they did recently and there haven’t been many flamewars, either.  Flamewars on a comic board is a sign of excitement.  Tensions are up, emotions are high, Mountain Dew is flowing.  You can smell the Dorito breath through the screen.  There was enough buzz during The Civil War and Infinite Crisis (which I personally thought BLEW ZEBRA DICKS, but I still read it) and then The Blackest Marketing Gimmick and “EVERYBODY’S A CYLO, uh, SKRULL” to take down the internet.  What does this tell me?  Fans love conflict.  What do these all have in common?  CHANGE.  Not regression.  Fans wants change.  What caused one of the biggest backlashes in comic history?  Peter Parker’s Mindwipe/Marriagewipe.  Why?  Because it wasn’t a change.  It wasn’t a move forward.  I’ve stated my dislike of this idea long ago, but it was just weird.  It didn’t even really make sense.  And just because I can, Joe Quesada, grow up.

I appreciate the old ways, myself.  I’m a bit old-fashioned, so I like my super heroes, well, super.  Good.  I don’t mind when they get a little dirty, though.  And I DO like when they grow.  I like that best of all.  Comics as a medium has gotten to the point where it’s gained mainstream popularity enough that we can treat the mythology like adults.  I know Bendis has his critics, but I happen to like the fact that he treats the characters he deals with like people.  He gives them life, but doesn’t let you forget they’re fictional.  He keeps the balance right (doo doo doo doo doo).  He lets them grow.  So what’s my point?  Let’s shake things up.  They’re super heroes.  They’ve had enough time to rest.  Get back to work.

Yes, more of this please.

Leave a Reply

