It’s a new dawn, a new day…

Posted: February 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

Happy New…February.  It’s been awhile since I’ve posted a new blog and that needs to be done did.  A lot has been happening lately, some of which…I can’t even talk about.  Yes, I’m very mysterious.  Some, though, I can.  I was accepted into La Guardia Community College, after much struggle and I’ve taken my ACTs and did better on them than I thought.  I am going to be meeting with a counselor in two weeks to discuss my academic future.  I’m going to start out slow, because I want to also keep my eyes open.  I had a good discussion with 2/3 of The Roomsketeers the other night and it sparked a lot of thought.  Life is constantly changing.  It’s a good thing.   If there’s one thing I’ve learned in the past couple years about myself, it’s that change is important.  It’s like a big shark, man!  You stop swimmin’, you die!  I’m more of a grouper, though.  :O  I also made a 2011 wishlist.  I’m not big on Resolutions, because resolutions are usually things that can be forgotten about after a month.  I stole the idea from Coryboo and Mr. B.  These are things you’d like to see yourself accomplish in the year.  And to help hold myself accountable, I’m going to post them here, too. 🙂  Some of them are a big abstract, but that’s okay. It’s just a list, relax.

WishList 2011
Learn Spanish
Start school (go at least two semesters)
Maintain a 4.0 GPA
Learn a musical instrument
Pay off my credit cards
Save at least $10K
Begin running as a regular exercise
Lose 15 lbs
Blog at least three times a week  (see what I did there)
Leave the state at least three times
Read 1 non-fiction book a month
Start writing family history
Tell a story in front of an audience at least once
Try stand-up (start writing material)
Do comic book storyboard
Learn how to dress better (be more aware of style)
Take a fencing lesson
Go to one new Brooklyn and Manhattan restaurant or bar a month (each)
See one “essential” movie a month (also make essential movie list from friends)
Read one “essential” book a month (see movie list)
Practice yoga once a week (either by self or class)
Learn more about spirits (either by researching on own or class) – Once a week
Kayak on the Hudson
Go to at least two art galleries a month
Go to the museum at least every two months
Go swimming at least twice a month (when weather permits)
Improve cooking skills
Learn American Sign Language enough to hold a basic conversation
Do one thing I’m scared of a month

The idea is to try to do a little of each at a time.  Like for instance, today, I used Rosetta Stone for a bit and brushed up on my Español (God, I’m so white), I read a non-fiction book, The Wisdom of Insecurity (got farther in it than I have in the past, I keep switching books), I blogged (OH HO), and I kayaked the Hudson.  Okay, maybe I didn’t do ALL of those.  I wouldn’t want to freeze my toukas off.

Speaking of which, holy moley, it’s been cold.  This is one of the more intense winters that NYC has had in awhile (or so I’m told) and I’ll tell you a secret.  *whisper* I secretly love it. I love the snow.  I also love staying inside where it’s warm and making popcorn and watching movies.  And my room has pipes running under it from the radiator, so it stays almost the perfect temperature all the time.   Woohoo!

So I opened this can of bloggy worms again, so I’m going to keep eating them.    I had an idea for another theme, which I’ll get into I think on Friday.   😉  Adios, muchachos.  (and muchachas? I’m still beginning)

WEEE!

Comments
  1. Season says:

    allll the cool kids are going to school. i’m so excited for you!

    Like

  2. 37 says:

    Oh, so that’s how you spell toukas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

