Orin Scrivello, DDS…

Posted: February 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

You know when you start to get a toothache and you can tell it’s coming, but you hope it gets better, but it doesn’t?  Then you get really bad to where you’re bent over your chair in pain and have to hold water in your mouth to stop it from hurting?  Yeah, so do I.  Apparently, I cracked a molar.  It’s not a big mystery considering I put all my stress in my jaw and grind my teeth when I sleep. :/  Not the best way to deal, but I’m working on it.  What this meant for me, was a rush trip to the dentist, a lot of drilling and a permanent cap that looks like one of Stay Puft’s thumbnails.  Yaaaaaaay.  Luckily, I have a pretty good dental plan (Delta Dental, no kidding, I pay out of pocket and it’s cheaper than some work insurance plans I know of).  It’s still a bit sore and angry (like me).  The funny thing is (not funny strange, funny haha), most people I spoke to of this regaled me with tales of their fear of dentistry and their hatred of dentists.  I like my dentist.  He’s nice and he takes me in at the last minute all the time and he’s usually pretty easygoing about things.  And the last time I had a problem with a filling, he fixed it for free.  Strange.  Okay, maybe it is funny strange.  I was wondering why people dislike going to the dentist or doctor.  I can understand general distrust because of rate rapes and prescribing medicine you don’t need, but actually fixing something wrong with you?  Or just getting a cleaning?  This seems weird to me.  Maybe I’ve just been generally lucky (I’ve had my bad experiences, like with Olga, the Yugoslavian Mouth Butcher), but I always think…it could be worse….

 

One of those girls is Gina from Martin. Truth.

Comments
  1. Chante says:

    Totally Gina! Nobody ever believes me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

