Anyone saying The Day After Tomorrow is instantly disqualified.

Posted: February 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

I mentioned this before, that one of my wishlist items this year is to watch one Essential Movie a month.  How do I qualify a movie as an Essential Movie (CAPITALS!)?  That’s where you come in, true believer.  I’m asking for one thing this year from my friends and family.  I want your five essential movies.  Not your favorite movies, if that makes sense.  For instance, one of my favorite movies is Better Off Dead, but do I feel everyone needs to see this movie before they die?  No.  I think there are people who wouldn’t enjoy it and it IS a funny movie, but I’m talking about movies that you are AFFECTED by.  Movies that you either identify with or you feel have helped you identify yourself.  Movies that you feel other people should see in their lives.  Movies that you feel have actually helped shape the film industry or the world itself or summed up a time or feeling of a generation.  You get five.  I’ve already received one list from Pedro and he even gave explanations for each movie and why it was important to him.  You don’t HAVE to do that, but I wouldn’t mind it, for sure.  If you want, just shoot me an email (sp8cghoost@gmail.com), put it in the comments, send me a Facebook message, wrap it around an arrow and shoot it at my door, whatever.   I will be sending emails out to people who might not read my blog, but if you think I don’t want your list or you’re worried your list might be repeated, etc, move past it.  The idea is to make a list that covers a wide range of opinions and ideas.  The end goal is also to get digital copies of these movies, put them all on a hard drive and put them away.  So that when it’s dug up by future generations, they’ll know the joy of Scary Movie 4.

Yep, that really IS Dr. Phil.

Comments
  1. Buck says:

    Here’s my list with some notes from wikipedia. Since you didn’t prohibit them, I’ve included a few mini-series in my list – just think of them as one long movie…

    Band of Brothers
    Ten-part television World War II miniseries based on the book by historian and biographer Stephen E. Ambrose. In the HBO series, he recalled a question that a fellow veteran was asked by his grandson. Here’s how Winters told it: ” ‘Grandpa, were you a hero in the war?’ Grandpa said, ‘No, but I served in a company of heroes.’ ” – I think this not only captures the intensity of the horror of war, but also captures in its subtext, important lessons about leadership, courage, duty, and human relationships.

    The Right Stuff
    Adapted from Tom Wolfe’s 1979 book The Right Stuff about the test pilots who were involved in high-speed aeronautical research at Edwards Air Force Base as well as those selected to be astronauts for Project Mercury, the United States’ first attempt at manned spaceflight. The story contrasts the “Mercury Seven” and their families with pilots like Chuck Yeager, who was considered by many test pilots to be the best of them all, but was never selected as an astronaut. – I always find the depiction of the Chuck Yeager breaking the sound barrier for the first time in this film to be quite moving – the spirit of humanity’s drive to learn the unknown and reach the unexplored with such courage as shown in this film I find quite inspirational.

    Lonesome Dove
    Miniseries based on 1985 Pulitzer Prize-winning western novel written by Larry McMurtry. The story focuses on the relationship of several retired Texas Rangers and their adventures driving a cattle herd from Texas to Montana. The basic story is a slightly fictionalized account of Charles Goodnight’s and Oliver Loving’s cattle drive. In particular, Loving (Gus) was attacked by Indians, and died several weeks later of blood poisoning with Goodnight (Call) at his side. Goodnight honored Loving’s dying request to be taken back to Texas for burial. — There are some very good life lessons about happiness in life to be found in this movie.

    The Fog of War: Eleven Lessons from the Life of Robert S. McNamara
    2003 American documentary film about the life and times of former U.S. Secretary of Defense Robert S. McNamara.

    R.S. McNamara’s eleven lessons of war
    * Empathize with your enemy
    * Rationality will not save us
    * There’s something beyond one’s self
    * Maximize efficiency
    * Proportionality should be a guideline in war
    * Get the data
    * Belief and seeing are often both wrong
    * Be prepared to re-examine your reasoning
    * In order to do good, you may have to engage in evil
    * Never say never
    * You can’t change human nature

    – It’s intersting when you see a keen mind like McNamara’s reflect back on misteps made during his time as Secretary of Defense during the Cold War – questioning our thinking from time-to-time to reasses things is an important take away, as well as the lesson of viewing yourself (and your nation) from the persepctive of other people’s eyes. Very instructive.

    The Godfather (Parts I & II)
    – “Leave the gun. Take the canolli.”

    Like

  2. Gimpelking says:

    My llist of the 5 most essential movies I saw in my life is as follows:

    1.) Farewell my concubine
    2.) The Batlle of Algiers
    3.) Goodfellas
    4.) City of God
    5.) To be or not to be (by Ernst Lubitsch)

    Like

Leave a Reply

